External Awards Facilitation

Sharing the Flame


This recognition program honours innovative and effective learning programs, designed for Canadians from early childhood through to the senior years. This program highlights some of Canada’s most promising practices in learning¬, giving these initiatives the visibility they deserve, and helping others to learn from their success.


Programs must be:

  • Currently operating in Canada
  • Be an ongoing learning initiative, established before January 2006
  • Demonstrate benefits to participants, including learners and other stakeholders (e.g. employers, communities);
  • Demonstrate how stakeholders enhance the quality of learning; and
  • Be an evidence-based promising practice that has demonstrated future potential.

For further information

Canadian Council on Learning, "Sharing the Flame Celebrates Canadian Innovations in Learning"


Mid-October (check website in July)

Return to community, national and provincial awards alphabetical listing.